The Education Annex

Located at 23 Main Street, right across the street from the James Library Building is the Museum of Early Trades & Crafts’s Education Annex.  The Education Annex is able to accommodate larger school groups, provide workshop and lecture space and will be better able to serve Madison’s growing community.

History of the James Building

Built by D. Willis James, The James Building opened in 1899 and was Madison’s first town hall. James Hall, located on the second floor of the building was once the heart of Madison’s social activities. Flower shows, dances, movie screenings and even a few of Madison High School’s graduation ceremonies were held in the building. Today, private offices and apartments are located on the second and third floors. The James Building also housed the original Madison Children’s Library which once served hundreds of school children with its selection of children’s books and magazines.

Using the income from the James Building, Mr. James built the James Library which housed the Madison Public Library from 1900 until 1967. In 1969, The James Library building became the Museum of Early Trades & Crafts.

METC is thrilled to be part of the James Building’s history and look forward to working with the building’s owners, the Solu family, who understand the unique connection between the museum and the James Building. For more information about the METC Education Annex, please email info@metc.org.